galloway and macleod logo
dairy cows in field

enquiries

About Us 

 

Galloway & MacLeod was formed as a Limited company in 1921 and we can trace our roots back to 1872. The business is now in it's third century of continuous service to the rural community.


Over the years Galloway & MacLeod has continually adapted to changing customer needs. The business embraces the values of our heritage with the dynamism required in today's market place.

 

As an employee owned company, our values are demonstrated by the commitment of our employees to go the extra mile in pursuit of customer satisfaction. Each employee has a vested interest in ensuring Galloway & MacLeod continues to grow and remain at the forefront of the markets we serve.

 

Quality is paramount and all operations are Quality Assured: ISO 9001, Investor in People, Universal Feed Assurance Scheme (UFAS), Fertiliser Industry Assurance Scheme (FIAS), British Agrochemicals Supply Industry Scheme (BASIS) and QMS Scottish Quality Assured Feeds.

We employ 34 staff who are trained to provide competent service in the area of their employ.

 

We are located in the village centre of Stonehouse 5 minutes West of Jct 8, M74. On our 4 acre site we have Offices, Storage, Feed Mill, Distribution Depot, Feed Superstore and Vehicle Workshop. Vehicle access and parking are not restricted.

 

The G & M strapline is 'experience. the difference'. We hope you will benefit from our experience and that will make the difference.

 

Intelligent Agriculture® is our unique innovative process that enables farmers to optimise production and achieve environmental compliance - Click Here:

 

                                                                          Intelligent Agriculture cmyk Reg.png

 

 

Heritage

Cander Mill, Stonehouse circa 1904-05

 

Candermill-History.jpg

 

Originally a water-mill with an internal 'overshoot' waterwheel. The mill was refurbished in 1950's a Baron grinder and a seed dressing plant installed. In 1960's the main business of the mill was seed cleaning and dressing also ground oat screenings sold to midland compounders. Cander Mill was sold for development in 1970's and demolished in 1980's. Today the site remains vacant.

Cander Mill house remains was MacLeod family home and is currently occupied by Robert & Margaret Ferguson & Family. Mairi Allan's brother and fruit vendor to Galloway & MacLeod - that's continuity!

 

 

 

 

 

Early G&M Truck at Allanton Mill circa 1938

 

Early G  M Truck at Allanton Mil circa 1938 .jpg

 

 

 

 

 

G&M Lorry Circa 1940

 

G  M Lorry Circa 1940.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

Morris Commercial Driver John Kennedy, 1940's

 

Morris Commercial Driver John Kennedy 1940 s .jpg

 

 

 

 

Crosfields 1950's Advertisement Plate

 

Crosfields Advertisement 1950 s metal plate .jpg

 

 

 

 

 

MVA 217 Atkinson Lorry at Entrance to Crosfields & Calthorpe, Govan, Glasgow. October 1956

 

MVA 217 Atkinson Lorry at Crosfield  Calthrope Govan Opening Day  26 October 1956.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

MVA 217 Atkinson Lorry Driver George McInnes

 

MVA 217 Atkinson Lorry Driver George McInnes Oct 1956.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

MVA 904 S Type Bedford 1956

 

MVA 904 S- Type Bedford November 1956.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

S Type Bedford at Cander Mill, Stonehouse, circa 1957

 

S Type Bedford at Cander Mill Stonehouse. circa 1957.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

"HARVEST AGAIN"

West Mains Oat Harvest at Holm 1962

 

Oat-Harvest.jpg

 

Photo - Courtesy of Mrs Meg Allan

 

Fresh From The Combine, 1994.

 

Fresh_from_the_Combine_1994..jpg

 

 

Photo - Courtesy of Jim McKechnie.